Households Building Industry Transport
You are at: Home » Training  » Conferences, Workshops & Seminars  »  EENP Awards 2016 – Industrial EE Sharing Session


print friendly iconPrint friendly
  Connect with us! youtube RSS

EENP Awards 2016 - Industrial Energy Efficiency Sharing Session 

The Energy Efficiency National Partnership (EENP) Awards 2016 – Industrial Energy Efficiency Sharing Session was held on 4 October 2016 at the Devan Nair Institute of Employment and Employability. The event saw a turnout of more than 450 participants. Minister for the Environment and Water Resources, Mr Masagos Zulkifli Bin Masagos Mohamad, graced the event and presented the EENP Awards to ten companies, two energy managers, two public sector agencies and one school for their commitment and outstanding achievements in energy efficiency.

In his opening address, Minister Masagos highlighted that Singapore ratified the Paris Agreement in September 2016 and formalised its pledge to reduce emissions intensity by 36% from 2005 levels by 2030, and stabilise its greenhouse gas emissions with the aim of peaking around 2030.  He added, “While we are on track to meet our existing commitment to reduce greenhouse gas emissions by 16% from business-as-usual level in 2020, Singapore will have to build on past and ongoing efforts to grow the economy in a carbon-efficient way to achieve the 2030 pledge.  As the industrial sector is Singapore’s largest emitter of greenhouse gases, improving industrial energy efficiency will continue to be our key strategy in mitigating the impact of climate change.”

min masagos

Minister Masagos Zulkifli delivering the opening address.

Minister also shared how NEA is at an advanced stage of consultation with the industry on the adoption of enhanced energy management practices.  These include implementing structured energy management systems, and undertaking regular assessments to identify energy saving opportunities. He added that NEA also plans to introduce minimum energy performance standards for common industrial equipment and systems such as motors and cooling systems, which would help companies enjoy life-cycle cost savings in the long run.

Into its sixth year, the EENP Awards aims to foster a culture of sustained energy efficiency improvements in Singapore by identifying role models and best practices for companies to emulate. 

You may learn more about the recipients for the EENP Awards 2016 and their efficiency efforts here.

eenp awards 2016 winners

Recipients of the EENP Awards 2016 posing for a group photo with Minister Masagos,
Mr Choi Shing Kwok, Permanent Secretary (MEWR), Mr Ronnie Tay, CEO (NEA), Mr Gilbert Tan, CEO (e2i)

Industrial Energy Efficiency Sharing Session

The EENP Awards Ceremony was followed by an industrial energy efficiency sharing session, which comprises plenary sessions and two separate breakout tracks.  A total of 21 EENP Awards recipients and industrial energy efficiency professionals shared best practices, case studies, and latest technologies and solutions in energy management.  One participant, Mr Quah Han Song shared that the content of the sharing session was relevant and well-structured.  The energy manager of Infineon Technologies Asia Pacific Pte Ltd found the sharing of energy efficiency best practices by EENP Awards recipients useful in his area of work.

Please click here for more information on the programme. 


       Participants at the Industrial Energy Efficiency Sharing Session

Energy Efficiency Exhibition

The efforts of the EENP Award recipients were showcased at an energy efficiency exhibition, which was co-located with the EENP Awards 2016.  20 companies also showcased their energy efficient products and services at the exhibition.  The participants at the EENP Awards and Industrial Energy Efficiency Sharing Session also interacted with the exhibitors to learn how energy use could be better managed and energy efficiency further improved. 


min masagos with award recipients

exhibitors engaging participants

Minister Masagos interacting with the award recipients

Exhibitors engaging the participants

Last Updated on : 16 November 2017
© 2012 National Environment Agency